My Homemade Pizza

My kids LOVE my homemade pizza…………………but that was not always the case. Over the years, I’ve worked on this recipe to perfect it and tailor it to my family.  You can do the same!  A great pizza starts with a great crust. My recipe is simple. For one large pizza, I use 2 cups all-purpose flour, 1/8 cup sugar, 1 packet rapid-rise yeast and a large pinch of salt.  I mix in one cup of hot tap water and mix until it forms a ball. Then I knead for about a minute, or till smooth, and let rise in a bowl that has been coated with extra virgin olive oil (EVOO):

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I let that dough rise for an hour or so till it’s doubled in size.  I preheat the oven to 425 and punch the dough down. I know some have their ovens on a higher temp, but this temp works for me and this recipe. Your oven might be different.  🙂

Image

My absolute essential tool is my pizza stone!  This one is from The Pampered Chef, but I have 3 total and only 2 are PC. I like this one because it has the raised handles. 

I coat the pizza stone with EVOO, then spread my crust by hand.

Image

I top with our favorite sauce. Tonight, it was marinara sauce, but I’ve used Alfredo and other sauces, too.

Image

Topped with our favorite toppings, I bake this for 20 minutes.  Tonight, we had a variety pizza….part pepperoni, part Italian sausage and part plain mozzarella cheese. 

Image

Mix it up for your family and have some fun!

Thanks for reading!

~Tricia

Leave a Reply

